RPGaDay 2017 4th August

4th) Which RPG have you played the most since August 2016?

The Warhammer 40,000 game Rogue Trader as part of a long campaign that spanned over a year and a half. It’s a fun setting and the system is ok though a little too mechanically heavy for my usual liking (lots of keeping track of bonuses from this and from that). Had a great GM though and an epic ending to the game that included my death and anointment as a saint.

It was also a challenge personally as my character was a religious zealot, a role which I found hard to really play to. He had to be driven, passionate and furious while having enough nuance to let me be more than a caricature. I don’t know if I fully succeeded but it was nice to step out of my comfort zone for a while.

Second was Legend of the Five Rings, my Fallen Mountains campaign which was fun and I have posted about a few times (Campaign retrospective: https://wordpress.com/post/lunarshadowrpg.wordpress.com/1185 and Adventure logs: http://l5rfallenmountains.obsidianportal.com/ ). It was a fun campaign and one that sated my regular desire to return to Rokugan after being introduced to it by SirGuido on the HappyJacks RPG forums.

Leave a Reply

