Adventure Logs: Mind Maps

One of the things that I’m particularly bad at when it comes to managing campaigns is actually writing things up in coherent blocks of text. Partially that’s down to the way I tend to make notes, haphazard and on the fly but it’s also because I’m not that great at concise writing or writing in general (one of the purposes of this blog is to provide me with practise at doing so). This obviously impacts on how I keep track of what happens in a campaign and once I get past 3 or 4 sessions I often find that I’m left with multiple bits of paper containing all the random notes I’ve scribbled down during play. One of the ways I manage this is through Obsidian Portal, but most of the time my wiki’s end up lacking and I really make most use of the character side of the site, allowing me to keep all the PCs and NPCs in one place.

With all this in mind something I’m looking for other ways to record what is going on, which has been prompted by our current Dresden Files campaign. We’ve just started the final adventure of the trilogy we’d aimed for and as the GM I’m now trying to make sure everything connects together properly, especially the random elements from earlier adventures I’d introduced without knowing exactly how they fitted in (this is a big part of my GMing style, I’ll add something then adjust my existing idea of what’s going on to account for it). One of the best ways I’ve found to do that is through mind mapping, as I can just list out the elements and connect them together. Normally I do this in my trusty notebook but in the last few days I’ve started to look at web options for doing so, at the moment I’ve settled on using bubbl.us, so that my players can also see the results.

Dresden---Adventure-1_3l47eubsThe above is the resulting map from the first adventure. For an outsider it won’t explain anything that is going on but I hope that for the people involved it will serve as a good reference point to remind us of the connections and what happened during the adventure. The best bit of course is that between sessions I can simply add extra bubbles as ideas come together, or delete them if I change my mind.

I’m curious though, what other ways do people use to manage their campaigns? Or do you have any software you’d recommend for doing so?

Leave a Reply

