Quick Review: The Gamers: Hands of Fate

handsoffateAs my many Demon Hunter themed posts might have hinted at I am a massive fan of Dead Gentlemen Productions who are responsible for not only Demon Hunters but also The Game: Hands of Fate. As I contributed to the Kickstarter I got to see the movie slightly early but I’m happy to say that for everybody else it’s free to watch until the end of August and can be found here on vimeo (or click the image at the top).

So why are you still here? Go and watch it then come back for my quick review.

Watched it? Good. As for my thoughts I have to admit that I am extremely conflicted. Not because the movie isn’t any good, it’s great and probably the best thing that Dead Gentlemen have put out to date. The writing is tight, it’s well shot, has the best acting yet and the story arc is well thought out. My issues lie instead with my expectations of the movie, based upon the previous two and Hands of Fate deviates significantly from those. Primarily because it’s not about a group of gamers, this movie is all about Cass. Sure Gary gets a secondary plot arc but Leo is reduced to the role of Cass’ mentor while Lodge and Joanna are basically named extras (though apparently the expanded non-theatrical edition will include a lot more of them). The reduced screen time for the group has an obvious knock-on, that the Player Characters introduced in Dorkness Rising are also virtually absent from the movie, a shame given the extent to which they had been previously developed.

So my final impression: Go watch it because it is yet another awesome production from Dead Gentlemen. Just don’t expect it to follow all the conventions set up by the first two movies.

Oh and Romance of the Nine Empires looks sweet, I am so picking up the Anniversary Box Set when AEG put it out.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Review: The Gamers: Hands of Fate”

Leave a Reply

